Beyond

Wong Ka Kui

Picture Credit: http://www.lovebeyond.com

30th of June marks the day Ka Kui passed on in 1993. I still remember mom telling me Ka Kui from Beyond fell off a stage and is in coma. I couldn’t read chinese so I didnt pursue further. FYI, I began to listen to Beyond’s music after Ka Kui’s death.  Those days, CDs are not available and cassettes were the major source of music. I still remember the man selling cassettes at the weekly pasar malam. If I remembered correctly, I bought my first Beyond album for the price of RM9. Ah yes..Now I remember clearly. I was learning how to play a guitar. And back those days, if you are playing a guitar, you just have to listen to Beyond’s music for inspiration. Beyond’s “Pai Joi Yau Yee” is the first ever Beyond song I listened too. I can hardly make out what the lyrics meant but I believe it was a song of inspiration to young ppl. Of not to give up easily and pursue your dream no matter what.

2nd cassette, 3rd cassette and so on came pretty quick. I had a very strong desire to complete my collection on Beyond’s music. One of my fav album was the last concert Ka Kui sang in, Beyond Unplugged. The raw energy from the crowd was fantastic. I still remember that my Additional Maths Text book has a picture of Ka Kui on the front cover 😀 I bought the pic for RM3 only If I am not mistaken. A fren of mine and me always performed covers from Beyond music back then at school. Ah…The good Old days..Anyhow I would like to dedicate this post to Wong Ka Kui and Beyond, my source of inspiration from 1993-2000. I stopped listening to them after the band broke up 😛

3 thoughts on “Beyond

Leave a comment